January 18, 2019


About the Journal of Critical Incident Analysis (JCIA)

The Journal of Critical Incident Analysis publishes theoretical, applied, and/or discussion papers dealing with natural disasters, terrorism, public health incidents, acts of mass violence, and other crises of critical importance. JCIA also accepts book reviews and case studies designed to bring relevant literature to the attention of a wider readership.

The Journal of Critical Incident Analysis is published biannually by Academy for Critical Incident Analysis (ACIA) at John Jay College of Criminal Justice (CUNY).

445 West 59th Street

New York, NY 10019

ISSN: 1949-1182

Manuscript Submission

All papers submitted to the Journal of Critical Incident Analysis are peer-reviewed in a double blind process.

Manuscripts and Book Reviews should be forwarded electronically to:

Managing Editor, Richard Schwester


Manuscripts should conform to the following guidelines: title, name, address, and organizational affiliation on the first page. On the second page include the title, abstract, keywords, and begin the text. Papers accepted for publication must follow the style of the American Psychological Association. Submission to JCIA implies that your article has not been simultaneously submitted to other journals or previously has not been published elsewhere. The blind, peer review process normally takes up to six weeks.

Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief: Ned Benton, John Jay College

Managing Editor: Richard Schwester, John Jay College

Associate Editor: Jason Levy, Virginia Commonwealth University

Mark Chubb, Portland State University

Sandro Cinti, University of Michigan

Rod Colvin, John Jay College

Glenn Corbett, John Jay College

Ric Curtis, John Jay College

Erik Goodman, Michigan State University

Steve Gorelick, CUNY Graduate Center

Norman Groner, John Jay College

James Hawdon, Virginia Tech University

Victor Herbert, John Jay College

Charles Jennings, John Jay College

Russell Jones, Virginia Tech University

Betty Kirby, Central Michigan University

Frank Ochberg, Dart Foundation

Atte Oksanen, University of Tampere (Finland)

Judy-Lynne Peters, John Jay College

Pekka Räsänen, University of Turku (Finland)

John Ryan, Virginia Tech University

Gabrielle Salfati, John Jay College

Bruce Shapiro, Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma

Jeffrey Stern, Department of Homeland Security (formerly)

Ralph Taggart, Michigan State University

Robert Till, John Jay College